LMNT vs Liquid I.V. vs Gatorade: electrolyte drinks compared per litre
Pick up to four drinks and see sodium, potassium, sugar, calories and cost side by side at the same volume — because every label uses a different one.
Free · No sign-up · Runs entirely in your browser
Label figures for healthy adults choosing a drink for exercise and heat. For vomiting or diarrhoea, for a child, or with a heart, kidney or blood-pressure condition, what to drink and how much is a question for a clinician or pharmacist, not for a table.
Pick two to four drinks
3 of 4 chosen. Everything is recalculated to the same volume, from the maker’s own label.
Sports drinks
Low and zero sugar
Electrolyte powders and tablets
Oral rehydration solutions
Coconut water
| per litre | LMNTCitrus Salt drink mix | Liquid I.V.Hydration Multiplier, Lemon Lime | GatoradeThirst Quencher, Lemon-Lime |
|---|---|---|---|
| Serving as sold | 1 stick pack (6 g) | 1 stick (16 g) mixed with 16 fl oz water | 1 bottle (20 fl oz, 591 mL) |
| Water per serving | 500 mL, your volume | 473 mL, as the label says | 591 mL, ready to drink |
| Sodium, mg per litre | 2,000 | 1,057 | 457 |
| Sodium, mmol/L | 87 | 46 | 19.9 |
| Potassium, mg per litre | 400 | 782 | 135 |
| Magnesium, mg per litre | 120 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Sugar, g per litre | 0 | 23.3 | 57.5 |
| Calories per litre | 10 | 106 | 237 |
| Caffeine, mg per litre | Not stated | Not stated | 0 |
| One serving's sodium, share of 2,300 mg | 43% | 22% | 12% |
| Label checked | 15 September 202610 | 15 September 20268 | 15 September 20261 |
For scale: the WHO oral rehydration formula is 75 mmol/L of sodium (about 1,724 mg per litre)17, and whole-body sweat in athletes usually runs at about 10–70 mmol/L18. “Not stated” means the maker’s page does not give the value; it is not a zero.
Your volumes and prices
A stick stirred into a litre is a weaker drink than the label describes. Change the water for any powder or tablet, and add what you pay per serving to see the cost per litre.
LMNT
The label gives no volume; LMNT's science site suggests 16–32 fl oz (473–946 mL) a stick. 500 mL is only a starting point.
Liquid I.V.
Label: 473 mL (16 fl oz).
Gatorade
1 bottle (20 fl oz, 591 mL)
Against a sweat loss
For exercise only. How much sodium each drink would put back if the whole volume you sweated came back as that drink — an illustration, not a drinking plan.
Measured osmolality: published studies, not labels
How concentrated a drink is, as measured in published studies, not by the brands. These are not label claims, and a lab tests one product in one market in one year. Most of the figures on this page come from two studies funded by Entrinsic companies, one of which makes a rehydration drink tested alongside the others23,24; each reference below lists its funding. For reference, the WHO oral rehydration formula is 245 mOsm/L by specification17.
What each label says, and what it leaves out
LMNT — Citrus Salt drink mix10
1 stick pack (6 g). Checked 15 September 2026. Label says 'no sugar, no caffeine'. The label and product page give no water volume per stick; LMNT's science site pairs a stick's 1 g of sodium with 16–32 fl oz of water.
Liquid I.V. — Hydration Multiplier, Lemon Lime8
1 stick (16 g) mixed with 16 fl oz water. Checked 15 September 2026. 11 g added sugars. Label values are per stick; the maker recommends one stick in 16 oz of water.
Gatorade — Thirst Quencher, Lemon-Lime1
1 bottle (20 fl oz, 591 mL). Checked 15 September 2026. 34 g added sugars. The gatorade.com FAQ also says a 20 oz serving has about 270 mg of sodium.
Powerade vs Gatorade
Similar drinks, with one real difference: per litre, Powerade is the saltier. By the current US labels a litre of Powerade carries 676 mg of sodium (29.4 mmol/L) against Gatorade’s 457 mg (19.9 mmol/L), and more potassium, 225 mg against 135. Sugar is level at 59.2 and 57.5 g per litre. The Gatorade bottle shows the bigger sodium number only because it is the bigger bottle: 20 fl oz against a 12 fl oz serving.2,1 Both sit in the lower half of the range sweat usually runs at18, and far below the WHO rehydration formula’s 75 mmol/L.
The zero-sugar versions keep their siblings’ sodium — 457 mg per litre for Gatorade Zero and 676 mg for Powerade Zero4,5. One research group measured Gatorade Zero at 49 mOsm/kg against 343 for Gatorade Thirst Quencher23. The Powerade Zero that group tested measured 61 mOsm/kg, but its sodium came in at 18 mmol/L, well below the 29 mmol/L this US label works out at, so it was a different recipe and its osmolality says little about this one23,5. The only Powerade Mountain Blast measurement we have, 285 mOsm/kg, is from a Swiss survey in 2016–1725, not the US product on the label above, so the sugared pair cannot be compared on that.
| Per litre | Gatorade | Powerade | Gatorade Zero | Powerade Zero |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Label volume | 591 mL as sold | 355 mL as sold | 591 mL as sold | 355 mL as sold |
| Sodium, mg per litre | 457 | 676 | 457 | 676 |
| Sodium, mmol/L | 19.9 | 29.4 | 19.9 | 29.4 |
| Potassium, mg per litre | 135 | 225 | 135 | 225 |
| Sugar, g per litre | 57.5 | 59.2 | 0 | 0 |
| Calories per litre | 237 | 225 | 17 | 0 |
| Measured osmolality | 343 mOsm/kg23Gatorade Thirst Quencher, market not stated, published 2024334 mOsm/kg24Gatorade orange, premixed, US, published 2019 | 285 mOsm/kg25Powerade Mountain Blast (2016-17), Switzerland | 49 mOsm/kg23Gatorade Zero, market not stated, published 2024 | 61 mOsm/kg23Powerade Zero, market not stated, published 2024 — measured sodium 18 mmol/L against this label's 29, so a different recipe |
| Label checked | 15 September 20261 | 15 September 20262 | 15 September 20264 | 25 September 20265 |
LMNT vs Liquid I.V.
They are built for different jobs. A stick of LMNT has 1,000 mg of sodium, twice Liquid I.V.’s 500 mg, no sugar and 60 mg of magnesium. A stick of Liquid I.V. adds 11 g of sugar and 370 mg of potassium10,8.
Per litre, the answer turns on the water. Liquid I.V. says 16 fl oz, which makes 1,057 mg of sodium per litre (46 mmol/L). LMNT’s label and product page give no volume; LMNT’s science site says a stick’s 1 g of sodium is meant for 16–32 fl oz (473–946 mL) of water21. At 32 fl oz that makes 1,057 mg per litre (46 mmol/L) — the same as Liquid I.V. — and at 16 fl oz 2,114 mg (92 mmol/L), which is saltier than the WHO rehydration formula17. If you want the salt without the sugar, LMNT or Liquid I.V. Sugar-Free (1,057 mg per litre, sweetened with allulose and stevia leaf extract) does it. If you are fuelling a long session, Liquid I.V.’s sugar is under half a sports drink’s per litre (23.3 g against Gatorade’s 57.5). Neither has an osmolality measurement in our evidence file.
| Per litre | LMNT in 16 fl oz | LMNT in 32 fl oz | Liquid I.V. | Liquid I.V. Sugar-Free |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Label volume | 1 serving in 473 mL (our example) | 1 serving in 946 mL (our example) | 1 serving in 473 mL | 1 serving in 473 mL |
| Sodium, mg per litre | 2,114 | 1,057 | 1,057 | 1,057 |
| Sodium, mmol/L | 92 | 46 | 46 | 46 |
| Potassium, mg per litre | 423 | 211 | 782 | 782 |
| Sugar, g per litre | 0 | 0 | 23.3 | 0 |
| Calories per litre | 11 | 5 | 106 | 42 |
| Measured osmolality | None in our evidence file | None in our evidence file | None in our evidence file | None in our evidence file |
| Label checked | 15 September 202610 | 15 September 202610 | 15 September 20268 | 15 September 20269 |
Liquid I.V. vs Gatorade: is Liquid I.V. better?
It depends what “better” is for. Mixed as the labels say, Liquid I.V. has 2.3 times Gatorade’s sodium per litre (1,057 mg against 457), nearly 6 times the potassium (782 mg against 135), and less than half the sugar (23.3 g against 57.5) and calories (106 against 237)8,1. For a heavy, salty sweater in a long, hot session, that is more of what is being lost. For fuel, Gatorade carries more carbohydrate. For sessions under an hour, the athletic trainers’ position is that water should be all you need19.
One thing Liquid I.V. is not, by the WHO’s numbers, is a full-strength oral rehydration solution: at 46 mmol/L its sodium sits below the formula’s 7517.
| Per litre | Liquid I.V. | Gatorade | Gatorade Zero |
|---|---|---|---|
| Label volume | 1 serving in 473 mL | 591 mL as sold | 591 mL as sold |
| Sodium, mg per litre | 1,057 | 457 | 457 |
| Sodium, mmol/L | 46 | 19.9 | 19.9 |
| Potassium, mg per litre | 782 | 135 | 135 |
| Sugar, g per litre | 23.3 | 57.5 | 0 |
| Calories per litre | 106 | 237 | 17 |
| Measured osmolality | None in our evidence file | 343 mOsm/kg23Gatorade Thirst Quencher, market not stated, published 2024334 mOsm/kg24Gatorade orange, premixed, US, published 2019 | 49 mOsm/kg23Gatorade Zero, market not stated, published 2024 |
| Label checked | 15 September 20268 | 15 September 20261 | 15 September 20264 |
Gatorlyte vs Gatorade
Gatorlyte is the same company’s saltier, lower-sugar line. Per litre it carries 829 mg of sodium (36.1 mmol/L) against Gatorade’s 457 (19.9), 592 mg of potassium against 135, and 20.3 g of sugar against 57.5. It also lists magnesium, calcium and chloride3,1. Its calories are in a panel we could not read, so the table leaves them blank rather than guess. The trade is simple: Gatorlyte for more salt and less sugar, the original for more carbohydrate. Neither reaches the WHO formula’s 75 mmol/L.
| Per litre | Gatorlyte | Gatorade |
|---|---|---|
| Label volume | 591 mL as sold | 591 mL as sold |
| Sodium, mg per litre | 829 | 457 |
| Sodium, mmol/L | 36.1 | 19.9 |
| Potassium, mg per litre | 592 | 135 |
| Sugar, g per litre | 20.3 | 57.5 |
| Calories per litre | Not stated | 237 |
| Measured osmolality | None in our evidence file | 343 mOsm/kg23Gatorade Thirst Quencher, market not stated, published 2024334 mOsm/kg24Gatorade orange, premixed, US, published 2019 |
| Label checked | 25 September 20263 | 15 September 20261 |
Propel vs Gatorade
Propel is, near enough, Gatorade’s electrolytes without the sugar. One stick of the powder in 20 fl oz of water — the maker’s directions — makes 440 mg of sodium per litre (19.1 mmol/L) and 135 mg of potassium, against Gatorade’s 457 and 135, with no sugar and, in the page’s own words, no calories6,1. That puts it beside Gatorade Zero (457 mg per litre), and both are sweetened with sucralose and acesulfame potassium. What Propel does not have is carbohydrate, so it is not fuel for a long session. The bottled Propel waters are not in this comparison: their nutrition panel loads from a PepsiCo site that refused our checks, and we do not print numbers we could not read.
| Per litre | Propel | Gatorade | Gatorade Zero |
|---|---|---|---|
| Label volume | 1 serving in 591 mL | 591 mL as sold | 591 mL as sold |
| Sodium, mg per litre | 440 | 457 | 457 |
| Sodium, mmol/L | 19.1 | 19.9 | 19.9 |
| Potassium, mg per litre | 135 | 135 | 135 |
| Sugar, g per litre | 0 | 57.5 | 0 |
| Calories per litre | 0 | 237 | 17 |
| Measured osmolality | None in our evidence file | 343 mOsm/kg23Gatorade Thirst Quencher, market not stated, published 2024334 mOsm/kg24Gatorade orange, premixed, US, published 2019 | 49 mOsm/kg23Gatorade Zero, market not stated, published 2024 |
| Label checked | 25 September 20266 | 15 September 20261 | 15 September 20264 |
Pedialyte vs Gatorade: exercise or illness?
They are built for different losses. Pedialyte Classic carries 1,080 mg of sodium per litre (47 mmol/L) with 780 mg of potassium and 13 g of sugar; AdvancedCare Plus has 1,380 mg (60 mmol/L). Gatorade has 457 mg (19.9) and 57.5 g of sugar13,14,1. More salt and much less sugar is the shape of an oral rehydration solution, which is built to replace what diarrhoea takes out: the WHO formula sets sodium at 75 mmol/L, chloride at 65, glucose at 75, potassium at 20 and citrate at 10, for a total of 245 mOsm/L17.
Measured in a 2019 study, Pedialyte Classic came in at 313 mOsm/kg and Gatorade orange at 33424. Pedialyte’s current ingredient list differs from the one that study printed, so today’s recipe may measure differently22. For exercise, a sports drink’s sugar is fuel as well as flavour; Pedialyte gives you salt with little fuel. Neither is better in general. They answer different problems.
Sick, not sweaty?
Vomiting and diarrhoea are not a workout, and this page is not the place to plan for them. How much of an oral rehydration solution to take depends on age, weight and how much has been lost, so we put no number on it. Talk to a doctor, nurse or pharmacist, especially for a child, an older adult, or anyone who cannot keep fluids down.
| Per litre | Pedialyte Classic | Pedialyte AdvancedCare Plus | Gatorade |
|---|---|---|---|
| Label volume | 1,000 mL as sold | 1,000 mL as sold | 591 mL as sold |
| Sodium, mg per litre | 1,080 | 1,380 | 457 |
| Sodium, mmol/L | 47 | 60 | 19.9 |
| Potassium, mg per litre | 780 | 780 | 135 |
| Sugar, g per litre | 13 | 19 | 57.5 |
| Calories per litre | 70 | 100 | 237 |
| Measured osmolality | 313 mOsm/kg24Pedialyte Classic, mixed fruit, US, published 2019 | None in our evidence file | 343 mOsm/kg23Gatorade Thirst Quencher, market not stated, published 2024334 mOsm/kg24Gatorade orange, premixed, US, published 2019 |
| Label checked | 15 September 202613 | 15 September 202614 | 15 September 20261 |
DripDrop vs Liquid I.V.
Both are sugar-and-salt powders, DripDrop describes itself as built on oral rehydration science, and it is the stronger drink as directed: one stick in 8 fl oz makes 1,392 mg of sodium per litre (60.6 mmol/L), against Liquid I.V.’s 1,057 (46) in 16 fl oz. Per stick the order flips — DripDrop is 330 mg of sodium and 7 g of sugar, Liquid I.V. 500 mg and 11 g — which is exactly why this page compares per litre. Potassium per litre is close (759 against 782 mg), and DripDrop also lists 40 mg of magnesium and some zinc per stick12,8.
| Per litre | DripDrop | Liquid I.V. |
|---|---|---|
| Label volume | 1 serving in 237 mL | 1 serving in 473 mL |
| Sodium, mg per litre | 1,392 | 1,057 |
| Sodium, mmol/L | 60.6 | 46 |
| Potassium, mg per litre | 759 | 782 |
| Sugar, g per litre | 29.5 | 23.3 |
| Calories per litre | 148 | 106 |
| Measured osmolality | None in our evidence file | None in our evidence file |
| Label checked | 25 September 202612 | 15 September 20268 |
Which electrolyte drink is best for hydration?
For most people on most days, water. The athletic trainers’ position statement says activity under an hour should need nothing but water, and that sessions over an hour, or with hard intervals, may benefit from carbohydrate, electrolytes or both — especially in extreme environments19. Past that, “best” depends on what you are short of:
- Salt, in a long hot session. Gatorlyte, Liquid I.V. and DripDrop run from 36.1 to 60.6 mmol/L as directed, and LMNT is as strong as you mix it; the standard sports drinks sit at 19.9–29.4.
- Fuel. A standard sports drink carries 57.5–59.2 g of sugar per litre. That is the point of it in a long race, and the cost of it at a desk.
- No sugar. Gatorade Zero, Powerade Zero, Propel, LMNT and Liquid I.V. Sugar-Free all carry sodium without sugar.
More is not safer. Drinking water or dilute drinks — sports drinks included — well past your sweat losses is how exercise-associated hyponatraemia happens, and the trainers advise against gaining weight during exercise at all19. Measure what you lose with the sweat-rate calculator, and plan what to carry with the hiking water calculator.
Gatorade Zero vs Gatorade
For fluid and sodium, Gatorade Zero matches the original: the label shows the same 270 mg of sodium per 20 fl oz bottle, with 0 g of sugar and 10 calories instead of 34 g and 1404,1. What goes is the carbohydrate, and most of the osmolality with it: 49 mOsm/kg against 343 for the original in the same lab23. Whether that makes Gatorade Zero any more hydrating than water — and what the trials that tested it found — is covered under is Gatorade Zero good for hydration?
How much sodium do you need?
The FDA’s Daily Value for sodium is less than 2,300 mg a day, the same limit the Dietary Guidelines set for adults, and Americans average about 3,400 mg20. The FDA’s page adds the caveat that matters here: the body needs sodium in relatively small amounts, provided that substantial sweating does not occur20.
Sweat is where the numbers spread. Whole-body sweat sodium in athletes runs at roughly 10–70 mmol/L, about 230–1,610 mg in every litre of sweat18; the trainers quote 10–100 mEq/L, and measured losses during exercise from 0.2 to 7.3 g of sodium an hour19. The same statement says people with very salty sweat (above 60 mEq/L) and high sweat rates (above 2.5 L an hour) may benefit from sodium in their drinks, and that there is no evidence of benefit from taking more than you lose19.
So a stick of LMNT, at 1,000 mg, is 43% of the 2,300 mg limit, and a stick of Liquid I.V. is 22% — meaningful amounts, not free extras. LMNT’s own FAQ argues for 4–6 g of sodium a day10; that is the brand’s position, not the FDA’s. If you have high blood pressure, kidney disease or heart failure, or a clinician has given you a sodium limit, ask them before adding electrolyte products.
Coconut water vs sports drinks
By label, coconut water is a potassium drink, not a sodium one. Vita Coco carries 63 mg of sodium and 1,958 mg of potassium per litre, Harmless Harvest 169 and 2,283; Gatorade is the other way round, at 457 and 13515,16,1. Sweat’s electrolytes are mostly sodium and chloride — final sweat carries only about 2–8 mmol/L of potassium18 — so if the point is putting back what a hot session took out, coconut water’s sodium is a small fraction of a sports drink’s. How the whole drinks list compares with water is on every drink, measured against water.
Why every label here is converted to the same volume
Labels describe different amounts: a 12 fl oz serving on a Powerade bottle, a whole 20 fl oz Gatorade, a litre of Pedialyte, and sticks meant for 8, 16 or 20 fl oz of water — and, for LMNT, no volume on the pack at all, only a 16–32 fl oz range on the brand’s science site21. Dividing each value by the volume its label describes and multiplying back up is the only fair way to line them up, and it is the same arithmetic as our sports drinks page. Sodium in mmol/L uses 22.99 mg per mmol.
Every value is the maker’s own label for one flavour, read on the date shown next to it. Flavours differ a little (Powerade Zero Mixed Berry lists 240 mg of sodium, Fruit Punch 250), other countries sell other recipes, and formulations change — check the pack you are holding. There are no affiliate links and no logos here; brand names describe products, nobody paid for this page and no brand reviewed it. BodyArmor is left out because its site would not show us a label, and the bottled Propel waters for the same reason.
Sources
Label pages were read on 15 September 2026 and 25 September 2026; the studies and guidance are listed as read.
- 1
PepsiCo Product Facts. Gatorade Thirst Quencher Lemon-Lime, 20 fl oz (label embedded on gatorade.com). Label last updated 12 September 2026.
Product labelRead: official pageOpen source
Product page: https://www.gatorade.com/sports-drinks/gatorade-thirst-quencher/lemon-lime
- 2
Powerade (Coca-Cola). Powerade Mountain Berry Blast nutrition facts.
Product labelRead: official pageOpen source
- 3
Gatorade (PepsiCo). Gatorlyte Watermelon, 20 fl oz: product page and Gatorade FAQs.
Product labelRead: official pageOpen source
Figures from the page text and https://www.gatorade.com/faqs. The embedded PepsiCo Product Facts panel refused automated access, so calories and carbohydrate are not recorded.
- 4
PepsiCo Product Facts. Gatorade Zero Glacier Cherry, 20 fl oz (label embedded on gatorade.com).
Product labelRead: official pageOpen source
Product page: https://www.gatorade.com/sports-drinks/gatorade-zero/glacier-cherry
- 5
Powerade (Coca-Cola). Powerade Zero Mixed Berry nutrition facts.
Product labelRead: official pageOpen source
- 6
Gatorade (PepsiCo). Propel Fitness Water powder packets, Berry: product page.
Product labelRead: official pageOpen source
Per serving highlights and mixing directions only; no full panel in the page text.
- 7
PRIME. Prime Hydration Ice Pop, 16.9 fl oz, back-of-bottle label image.
Product labelRead: official pageOpen source
Label photo is of the limited-edition bottle design.
- 8
Liquid I.V. Hydration Multiplier Lemon Lime, product label image.
Product labelRead: official pageOpen source
Use the flavour-specific label, not the generic 'Nutrition Facts Panel' image the same page embeds.
- 9
Liquid I.V. Hydration Multiplier Sugar-Free Lemon Lime, product label image.
Product labelRead: official pageOpen source
- 10
LMNT. Citrus Salt drink mix, label image and product page.
Product labelRead: official pageOpen source
Neither the label nor the product page gives a water volume per stick. LMNT's science site does: 1 g of sodium (one stick) per 16–32 oz of water (https://science.drinklmnt.com/did-you-know/hydrate-for-endurance-sports).
- 11
Nuun. Nuun Sport hydration tablets: nutritional information and directions.
Product labelRead: official pageOpen source
- 12
DripDrop. DripDrop Original Electrolyte Powder, Cherry: nutrition facts and preparation.
Product labelRead: official pageOpen source
The page's comparison table is per 16 oz (two sticks); the panel is per stick.
- 13
Pedialyte (Abbott). Pedialyte Classic Mixed Fruit, 1 L nutrition information.
Product labelRead: official pageOpen source
The '60 mEq vs 45 mEq' footnote on this page describes AdvancedCare Plus, not Classic.
- 14
Pedialyte (Abbott). Pedialyte AdvancedCare Plus Berry Frost, 1 L nutrition information.
Product labelRead: official pageOpen source
- 15
Vita Coco. The Original coconut water, 500 mL carton, nutrition facts image.
Product labelRead: official pageOpen source
The label notes that nutrition may vary with country of origin.
- 16
Harmless Harvest. The Deets on Coconut Water Nutrition (29 July 2026), values quoted from its product label.
Product labelRead: official pageOpen source
The post's percent Daily Value for potassium contradicts itself; print the mg figures only.
- 17
World Health Organization. The treatment of diarrhoea: a manual for physicians and other senior health workers, 4th revision. Geneva: WHO; 2005.
GuidelineRead: full textOpen source
- 18
Baker LB. Sweating rate and sweat sodium concentration in athletes: a review of methodology and intra/interindividual variability. Sports Med 2017;47(Suppl 1):111-128.
StudyRead: full textOpen source
Funding: Published in a supplement supported by the Gatorade Sports Science Institute; the author is employed by GSSI, a division of PepsiCo.
The 10-70 mmol/L whole-body range is partly predicted from local patch measurements.
- 19
McDermott BP, Anderson SA, Armstrong LE, et al. National Athletic Trainers' Association Position Statement: Fluid Replacement for the Physically Active. J Athl Train 2017;52(9):877-895.
GuidelineRead: full textOpen source
- 20
U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Sodium in Your Diet. Content current as of 5 March 2024.
GuidelineRead: official pageOpen source
- 21
Wolf R. How to hydrate for endurance sports. LMNT science site (science.drinklmnt.com), undated. Read 25 September 2026.
Product labelRead: official pageOpen source
A brand article, not the pack. It says LMNT was designed with 1 g of sodium in each stick pack to hit a target of 1 g per 16–32 ounces of water.
- 22
Abbott Nutrition. Pedialyte Classic product data (12 fl oz panels).
Product labelRead: official pageOpen source
- 23
Funnell MP, Juett LA, Reynolds KM, et al. Iterative assessment of a sports rehydration beverage containing a novel amino acid formula on water uptake kinetics. Eur J Nutr 2024;63(4):1125-1137.
StudyRead: full textOpen source
Funding: Funded by Entrinsic Beverage Company LLC and Entrinsic Bioscience LLC, which were involved in the study design; two authors (Kenefick, Cheuvront) are Entrinsic Bioscience employees, and the senior author (Lewis James) has current Entrinsic funding and past PepsiCo funding and consultancy.
- 24
Sollanek KJ, Kenefick RW, Cheuvront SN. Osmolality of Commercially Available Oral Rehydration Solutions: Impact of Brand, Storage Time, and Temperature. Nutrients 2019;11(7):1485.
StudyRead: full textOpen source
Funding: Funded by Entrinsic Health Solutions, maker of enterade (one of the drinks tested), which also donated the enterade; two authors are paid consultants to the company.
- 25
Mettler S, Weibel E. Osmolality, pH, and titratable acidity of sports drinks on the Swiss market. SEMS Journal 2018.
StudyRead: full textOpen source
Survey October 2016 to January 2017. Per-product tables are images; only values quoted in the Discussion are used.
Last reviewed 25 September 2026.
Related reading
Related tools
These tools give general wellness estimates only. They are not medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Fluid needs vary with health conditions and medication — talk to a clinician about yours.
Keep the number
Whichever bottle wins, it still counts. Water Goose logs a sports drink at full volume — and the water you stirred a stick into as water.
Free on iPhone and Android. Water Goose Plus unlocks saving and customising.